Lightmind Extract 006

01Jan08

tom.guerry 8.30.04

Greetings ! (remember those draft letters ?)
It seems like deja vu all over again in the new forums,Thanks ~E.
From the Jung forum:

Jung to Johnson :

“You have been claimed for an inner life,” Dr. Jung declared. “If you will remain loyal to the inner world, it will take care of you. That is what you are good for in this life. I must tell you at the outset that you should never join anything.”
“You must learn to accept that whatever you need will turn up for you,” he continued. “Even if you never produce anything of social value, your relationship with the collective unconscious will justify your reason for being on the face of the earth.”
“Please remember, it is what you are that heals, not what you know. In the beginning of my career I knew nothing, actually less than nothing. But still it worked. And do you know what? It was because of who I was.”

Jung’s advice/explanation of the path that “worked” for him (can’t remember exact source) was to follow your passion as did Paul (Saul,not Paul M.) and to not be surprised by being overcome on the road to Damascus.

Apparently this bit of advice was removed from later editions(maybe not all are cut out for this particular path).

Jung stressed “pistis in the Pauline sense”.

Pistis being translated in this case as loyalty to the inner experience.

Peripherally similar to:

The fear of the lord is the beginning of wisdom,etc.

8 Responses to “Lightmind Extract 006”

  1. 1 marmalade

    This brings up Campbell’s advice to follow your bliss. I read his explanation for this. He was thinking about the Hindu notions of beingness, knowledge, and bliss. He wasn’t sure what to make of beingness and knowledge, but he felt he had some understanding of bliss.

    Its surprising, that as a Catholic, that he hadn’t taken this idea from Paul, or for that matter from Jung.

    How does anyone see the fear of the lord idea fitting in with all of this?

    Jung isn’t talking about fear, but maybe this would fit into Paul’s passion.

  2. 2 muddypractice

    Interesting– I had never heard Campbell’s explanation of that before.

  3. 3 marmalade

    I was searching info about Campbell’s views on transcendence. I came across this, but I can’t remember where. If I see it again, I’ll give you the source or the link.

  4. 4 muddypractice

    Thanks, I’d be interested in checking out the original quote or whatever. I’m assuming there’s probably at least one print biography available on the subject of Campbell? Likely it would be addressed there?

  5. 5 marmalade

    http://www.drama21c.net/writers/campbellbook/sacrificebliss04.htm

    Now, I came to this idea of bliss because in Sanskrit, which is the great spiritual language of the world, there are three terms that represent the brink, the jumping-off place to the ocean of transcendence: sat-chit-ananda. The word “Sat” means being. “Chit” means consciousness. “Ananda” means bliss or rapture. I thought, “I don’t know whether my consciousness is proper consciousness or not; I don’t know whether what I know of my being is my proper being or not; but I do know where my rapture is. So let me hang on to rapture, and that will bring me both my consciousness and my being.” I think it worked.

    –Joseph Campbell, The Power of Myth, pp. 113, 120

  6. 6 muddypractice

    Thanks for digging up the original quote. That’s some food for thought…

    “I thought, ‘I don’t know whether my consciousness is proper consciousness or not; I don’t know whether what I know of my being is my proper being or not;’…”

    It seems so sad to have such doubts…

    “‘…but I do know where my rapture is. So let me hang on to rapture, and that will bring me both my consciousness and my being.’”

    That’s a nice redemptive conclusion, though.


  1. 1 Dr. Jung on Introversion « Wikum’s Blog
  2. 2 INFP: Sense of Purpose? - MBTI Central

Leave a Reply

