Lightmind Extract 072

03Jan08

Broken Yogi 5.6.07
People who claim to be enlightened, or who claim to be beyond such concepts as “enlightenment”, don’t much impress me, if they don’t show the signs of love, trust, surrender, happiness, and the fullness of simple being. I’m impressed with guys like Ramana, Papaji, Nisargadatta, etc., because they show such signs. Their teachings are just extra. So I feel a sense of trust in them, because I see the signs of wisdom in them. It even comes through in their teachings, both in the quality of their communications, and the content.

So when you make comments about my “project”, it just boils down to wanting to know what they know, that enables them to show such excellent signs of total trust in the universe, total surrender to merely being. Now, guys like you who don’t show those signs, but claim to be free and at ease with the ultimate, well, I just don’t trust you in that way. Nothing personal, it just seems like whatever you are doing spiritually, it hasn’t actually made the kind of difference that matters to me. And it comes out in conversations like this over issues of trust. Sure, I think there are plenty of Gurus who I wouldn’t trust. Da is one of them. I’ve said before that the primary reason I left Adidam is that I felt that I could no longer trust him. But it’s not just Gurus who one can’t trust. We can’t always trust ordinary folk like you and me who write on foums like this. I mean, honestly, I don’t trust your “take” on spiritual life, and it doesn’t appear that you trust mine. So be it.

The issue is important because it goes way beyond the who and the what and the why of trust, it goes to our basic disposition towards life and the Divine. If we don’t trust the essential process of life and consciousness, we will simply be miserable. If trust isn’t the core of what we are about, then we will distrust everything, even what is utterly deserving of trust. We, ourselves, will become untrustworthy. And that’s the real point I’m trying to make. If we don’t learn to trust, and trust truly and rightly, we won’t become trustworthy ourselves. What God will bestow his Grace on an untrustworthy person? And even if he did, would we trust it? Of course not.

As for spiritual life being dangerous, of course it is. So is love, so is everything meaningful in life. I simply think it’s a mistake to tell people to be wary at all times of all Gurus. This is bad advice from bad people who haven’t had the real experience that makes spiritual life trustworthy. My advice to people is to plunge into whatever you are drawn to, experience it, suffer it, and move on if necessary, or commit oneself to it utterly. My advice to people interested in Da is not to be wary and suspicious, but to check it out with an open mind, and if they really feel attracted to it, dive in, take the gamble, and see what happens. If Da isn’t the one, that will show itself to them prety early on. If you don’t plunge in, you will always be wondering. So it’s better to plunge in and find out sooner rather than later. And then move on to something else, and plunge in there also. To be the always distantly skeptical observer is to never actually find anything out. It is a recipe for superficiality and ambiguity. So I say take a gamble on life, whatever it is you are drawn to. This is how we learn and transcend.

One Response to “Lightmind Extract 072”

  1. 1 Throwing up

    And while individuals such as this are arguing these finer points and being not impressed by some particular individual, the world goes on. Thank you, it just shows me I’ve not missed anything by being away from this business for the last few years.


Leave a Reply

